Skip to content
Apprentice Atlas
Barclays logo

Barclays

Think differently about your future

Financial Services17 apprenticeship typesIntake2027 intake

Barclays runs two tiers of UK apprenticeship: two-year Level 3/4 programmes for people with GCSEs or National 5s, and Higher, Degree and Scottish Graduate Apprenticeships of up to four years for people with A levels or Highers. Both are permanent, salaried roles across Technology, Operations, Risk, Compliance and the banking businesses, and are open to school leavers and career changers of any age over 16.

Programmes

15 tracked · status for the next intake that is recruiting

Live vacancies

18 open

Apprenticeship types

17 offered · degree apprenticeships first
  • Technology Developer Degree Apprenticeship Programme

    Level 6Degree

    Software Engineering · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Technology Developer Degree Apprenticeship Programme
    Standard
    Digital and Technology Solutions Professional
    Business areas
    Technology
    Locations
    Northampton, Knutsford

    Advert names the 'Digital & Technology Solutions Professional Degree Apprenticeship'; degree title and university not published.

    Source for Technology Developer Degree Apprenticeship Programme
  • Technology Analyst Degree Apprenticeship Programme

    Level 6Degree

    Technology / Business Analysis · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Technology Analyst Degree Apprenticeship Programme
    Standard
    Digital and Technology Solutions Professional
    Business areas
    Technology
    Locations
    Knutsford

    Lower entry bar than the Developer route (104 points / BCC).

    Source for Technology Analyst Degree Apprenticeship Programme
  • Business Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme

    Level 6Degree

    Finance · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Business Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme
    Standard
    Financial Services Professional
    Business areas
    Business Banking
    Locations
    Manchester, Northampton

    Level 6 taken from the advert's 'Financial Services Professional Degree Apprenticeship' wording.

    Source for Business Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme
  • UK Corporate Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme

    Level 6Degree

    Finance · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: UK Corporate Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme
    Standard
    Financial Services Professional
    Business areas
    UK Corporate Banking
    Locations
    London, Birmingham, Leeds, Belfast

    Programme is titled a Degree Apprenticeship; advert names the 'Financial Services Professional Apprenticeship'.

    Source for UK Corporate Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme
  • Global Transaction Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme

    Level 6Degree

    Finance · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Global Transaction Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme
    Standard
    Financial Services Professional
    Business areas
    Global Transaction Banking
    Locations
    London, Northampton

    Programme is titled a Degree Apprenticeship; advert names the 'Financial Services Professional Apprenticeship'.

    Source for Global Transaction Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme
  • Technology Developer Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)

    Level 6Degree

    Software Engineering · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Technology Developer Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
    Standard
    Software Engineering Graduate Apprenticeship (Scotland)
    Business areas
    Technology
    Locations
    Glasgow

    Scottish Graduate Apprenticeship (a degree-level route).

    Source for Technology Developer Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
  • Technology Analyst AI and Data Science Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)

    Level 6Degree

    Data / AI · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Technology Analyst AI and Data Science Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
    Standard
    AI and Data Science Graduate Apprenticeship (Scotland)
    Business areas
    Technology
    Locations
    Glasgow

    Scottish Graduate Apprenticeship.

    Source for Technology Analyst AI and Data Science Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
  • Technology Analyst Business Management Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)

    Level 6Degree

    Business · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Technology Analyst Business Management Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
    Standard
    Business Management Graduate Apprenticeship (Scotland)
    Business areas
    Technology
    Locations
    Glasgow

    Scottish Graduate Apprenticeship.

    Source for Technology Analyst Business Management Graduate Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
  • Operations Higher/Degree Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Operations · up to 3-4 years

    More about this programme: Operations Higher/Degree Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Business areas
    Operations
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed on the Higher/Degree/Graduate page; no live 2027 advert seen, so level and standard unknown.

    Source for Operations Higher/Degree Apprenticeship
  • Private Banking and Wealth Management Higher/Degree Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Finance · up to 3-4 years

    More about this programme: Private Banking and Wealth Management Higher/Degree Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Business areas
    Private Banking and Wealth Management
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed on the Higher/Degree/Graduate page; no live 2027 advert seen.

    Source for Private Banking and Wealth Management Higher/Degree Apprenticeship
  • Risk Analyst Higher Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)

    Level not published

    Risk · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Risk Analyst Higher Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
    Standard
    Compliance and Risk Officer
    Business areas
    Risk
    Locations
    Glasgow

    'Higher Apprenticeship' (Level 4 or 5); the exact level is not published.

    Source for Risk Analyst Higher Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
  • Compliance Analyst Higher Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)

    Level not published

    Compliance · 4 years (August 2027 to August 2031 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Compliance Analyst Higher Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
    Standard
    Compliance and Risk Officer
    Business areas
    Compliance
    Locations
    Glasgow

    'Higher Apprenticeship' (Level 4 or 5); the exact level is not published.

    Source for Compliance Analyst Higher Apprenticeship Programme (Glasgow)
  • Customer Care Apprenticeship Programme

    Level not published

    Customer Service · 2 years (August 2027 to August 2029 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Customer Care Apprenticeship Programme
    Standard
    Senior Financial Services Customer Adviser
    Business areas
    Business, Customer and Retail Banking
    Locations
    Manchester

    Barclays describes its non-degree programmes as 'Level 3 or 4'; the level of this standard is not stated on the advert.

    Source for Customer Care Apprenticeship Programme
  • Business Banking Apprenticeship Programme

    Level not published

    Finance · 2 years (August 2027 to August 2029 for the 2027 intake)

    More about this programme: Business Banking Apprenticeship Programme
    Standard
    Senior Financial Services Customer Adviser
    Business areas
    Business Banking
    Locations
    Manchester

    Level 3 or 4 per Barclays' apprenticeship programmes page; not stated on the advert.

    Source for Business Banking Apprenticeship Programme
  • Technology Analyst Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)

    Level not published

    Technology · up to 2 years

    More about this programme: Technology Analyst Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)
    Standard
    Not published
    Business areas
    Technology
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed on the Level 3/4 programmes page; no live advert seen.

    Source for Technology Analyst Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)
  • Cyber and Security Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)

    Level not published

    Cyber · up to 2 years

    More about this programme: Cyber and Security Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)
    Standard
    Not published
    Business areas
    Technology, Cyber and Security
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed on the Level 3/4 programmes page; no live advert seen.

    Source for Cyber and Security Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)
  • UK Corporate Banking Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)

    Level not published

    Finance · up to 2 years

    More about this programme: UK Corporate Banking Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)
    Standard
    Not published
    Business areas
    UK Corporate Banking
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed on the Level 3/4 programmes page; no live advert seen.

    Source for UK Corporate Banking Apprenticeship (Level 3/4)

Barclays does not publish the qualification or the university or provider for any of these.

Entry requirements

Accepts UCAS pointsFrom 104 UCAS pointsA levels from BCC
A levels
3 A-levels at BBB (or equivalent) for most degree apprenticeships; Technology Analyst degree: minimum 104 points at A2 (grades BCC)
UCAS points
minimum of 104 points at A2 (grades BCC) or an equivalent, e.g. BTEC DMM (Technology Analyst Degree Apprenticeship)
GCSEs
Degree routes: GCSE Maths and English Language grade 4 (banking degrees ask Maths grade 6). Level 3/4 routes: 5 GCSEs at A*-C (9-5) including Maths and English
Equivalents
BTEC DMM quoted as equivalent; Scotland: SQA Highers BBBB (ABBB for Business Management GA; Maths and two sciences for Technology Developer GA); National 5s for Level 3/4
Other
Open to anyone over 16 in the UK; must meet Government apprentice funding rules incl. 3-year residence and right to work for the whole programme; Glasgow roles require residing in Scotland from 1 August 2027; one application per six months

As Barclays publishes them; requirements differ between programmes, so check the advert before you apply.

Application process

  1. Online application
  2. Online assessments
  3. Eligibility survey
  4. In-person assessment dayfrom October 2026
  5. Offer or feedback
  1. 1

    Online application

    When: late September to 31 October 2026 (may close early)

    About 30 minutes; one application per six months

  2. 2

    Online assessments

    Two short interactive assessments; allow 60 minutes; complete within five calendar days

  3. 3

    Eligibility survey

    Confirms apprenticeship funding eligibility

  4. 4

    In-person assessment day

    When: from October 2026

    Group activity and interview

  5. 5

    Offer or feedback

    Personalised feedback report if unsuccessful

Typical timeline

Opens
late September (2027-intake adverts posted 18-28 September 2026)
Closes
31 October 2026 (may close early on volume)
Assessment
from October 2026
Offers
Not published
Starts
August 2027

Windows for the 2027 intake, September 2026 to August 2027

  • Open, closes 31 OctBusiness Banking Apprenticeship Programme, Business Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme and 4 more

  • Open, closes 31 OctTechnology Analyst Degree Apprenticeship Programme, Technology Developer Degree Apprenticeship Programme and 1 more

  • Open, closes 31 OctUK Corporate Banking Degree Apprenticeship Programme

5 programmes have no 2027 dates yet.

Locations and universities

Locations
Northampton, Knutsford, Manchester, Glasgow, London (Canary Wharf), Birmingham, Leeds, Belfast
Universities and training providers
Not published

Salary and benefits

Starting salary
£25,200
Progression
Not published
Notes
£25,200 + benefits from day one on both the Level 3/4 and Higher/Degree programmes
Benefits
  • Permanent full-time role from day one
  • Dedicated Programme Support Manager and subject-matter expert
  • Ring-fenced study time
  • Hybrid working
  • Pension, discretionary annual bonus, life assurance and income protection
  • Voluntary benefits with discounts

Cohort size and intakes

Intake years
2027 intake
Cohort 2027
Not published

What stands out

One of the broadest bank schemes: the same £25,200 salary for Level 3 and degree apprentices, campus-based tech intakes at Northampton, Knutsford and Glasgow, and Scottish Graduate Apprenticeships alongside English degree routes.

Sources

Where every fact above comes from
  1. 1
    search.jobs.barclays/apprenticeships

    Accessed · Apprenticeships overview: two tiers, GCSE vs A level entry

  2. 2
    search.jobs.barclays/higher-degree-graduate-apprenticeships

    Accessed · Higher/Degree/Graduate programmes, business areas, £25,200 salary, up to 3-4 years, locations

  3. 3
    search.jobs.barclays/apprenticeship-programmes

    Accessed · Level 3/4 programmes, max 2 years, £25,200, GCSE requirements

  4. 4
    search.jobs.barclays/apprentice-application-journey

    Accessed · Application stages

  5. 5
    search.jobs.barclays/apprentice-faqs

    Accessed · Age 16+, durations, no relocation support

  6. 6
    search.jobs.barclays/benefits

    Accessed · Benefits package

  7. 7
    barclays.wd3.myworkdayjobs.com/External_Career_Site_Barclays

    Accessed · Per-advert standards, entry criteria, salary, closing date 31 Oct 2026, assessment day from Oct 2026.

Apprentice Atlas is not affiliated with Barclays. This information comes from Barclays’s own pages and job feeds, linked under Sources. Report an error or ask for a takedown.