Skip to content
Apprentice Atlas

BT Group

Telecoms & Media20 apprenticeship typesIntake2027 intake

BT Group (BT, EE, Openreach), one of the UK's largest private-sector apprenticeship employers, offers apprenticeships from Level 2 to Level 6 in software engineering, networks, cyber security, data and AI, field and customer engineering, project delivery and business roles. Level 2-4 programmes take 18-24 months and Level 6 degree apprenticeships take 48 months, with a September start.

Programmes

2 tracked · status for the next intake that is recruiting

Apprenticeship types

20 offered · degree apprenticeships first
  • Software Engineering Degree Apprenticeship (Digital and Technology Solutions)

    Level 6Degree

    Software Engineering · 48 months

    More about this programme: Software Engineering Degree Apprenticeship (Digital and Technology Solutions)
    Standard
    Digital and Technology Solutions Professional
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Software Engineering
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive. Level 6 'full degree' programmes are 48 months with one study day a week. Standard inferred from the DTS name.

    Source for Software Engineering Degree Apprenticeship (Digital and Technology Solutions)
  • Digital & Technology Solutions Degree Apprenticeship - Software Specialism

    Level 6Degree

    Software Engineering · 48 months

    More about this programme: Digital & Technology Solutions Degree Apprenticeship - Software Specialism
    Standard
    Digital and Technology Solutions Professional
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive. An apprentice profile on the apprenticeships page describes DTS rotations through network engineering, cyber security, data analysis and software development.

    Source for Digital & Technology Solutions Degree Apprenticeship - Software Specialism
  • Cyber Security Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Cyber · 48 months

    More about this programme: Cyber Security Degree Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive. FAQ lists the STEM subjects accepted for the Cyber Security programme.

    Source for Cyber Security Degree Apprenticeship
  • Networking Engineering Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Engineering · 48 months

    More about this programme: Networking Engineering Degree Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Networking Engineering Degree Apprenticeship
  • Business Explorer Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Business · 48 months

    More about this programme: Business Explorer Degree Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Business Explorer Degree Apprenticeship
  • Chartered Management Degree Apprenticeship

    DegreeLevel not published

    Business · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Chartered Management Degree Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Chartered Manager
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Named on the Exploration Hub (host is 'a recently graduated Chartered Management Degree Apprentice'); not in the 2026 coaching pack list. Level not stated.

    Source for Chartered Management Degree Apprenticeship
  • Research and Innovation Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Research and Innovation Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Ipswich (Adastral Park)

    FAQ lists the STEM subjects accepted for it; an apprentice profile describes it as a degree apprenticeship in research teams at Adastral Park. Level not stated.

    Source for Research and Innovation Apprenticeship
  • Other early-careers apprentice roles: Business Explorer - AI Expert, Network Apprentice, Project Manager, Improvement, Software Tester, Customer Support Technician, Digital, BT Secure Contracts

    Level and degree status not published

    Discipline not published · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Other early-careers apprentice roles: Business Explorer - AI Expert, Network Apprentice, Project Manager, Improvement, Software Tester, Customer Support Technician, Digital, BT Secure Contracts
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed as 'Our early apprenticeships' roles in the coaching pack without levels.

    Source for Other early-careers apprentice roles: Business Explorer - AI Expert, Network Apprentice, Project Manager, Improvement, Software Tester, Customer Support Technician, Digital, BT Secure Contracts
  • Network Engineering Apprentice

    Level 4

    Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Network Engineering Apprentice
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive. Level 4 'higher' programmes include a foundation degree per the FAQ.

    Source for Network Engineering Apprentice
  • Lead Engineering Maintenance Technician

    Level 4

    Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Lead Engineering Maintenance Technician
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Lead Engineering Maintenance Technician
  • Engineering Maintenance Apprentice

    Level 4

    Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Engineering Maintenance Apprentice
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Engineering Maintenance Apprentice
  • Mechanical & Electrical Power and Infrastructure Apprentice

    Level 4

    Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Mechanical & Electrical Power and Infrastructure Apprentice
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Mechanical & Electrical Power and Infrastructure Apprentice
  • Commercial Apprentice - Marketing Executive

    Level 4

    Business · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Commercial Apprentice - Marketing Executive
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Marketing
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Commercial Apprentice - Marketing Executive
  • Field Engineer

    Level 3

    Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Field Engineer
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Openreach / field engineering
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive. Field engineering roles require a full manual driving licence.

    Source for Field Engineer
  • Digital Support Technician

    Level 3

    Software Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Digital Support Technician
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Digital Support Technician
  • Security Engineer Apprentice

    Level 3

    Cyber · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Security Engineer Apprentice
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Security Engineer Apprentice
  • Network Technician

    Level 3

    Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Network Technician
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Network Technician
  • Associate Design Draftsperson

    Level 3

    Engineering · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Associate Design Draftsperson
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Listed in BT's Candidate Coaching Pack (amended 26 Jan 2026), which says the list is not exhaustive.

    Source for Associate Design Draftsperson
  • Unified Communications Technician

    Level 3

    Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Unified Communications Technician
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Named in the FAQ (needs a manual driving licence).

    Source for Unified Communications Technician
  • Intermediate apprenticeships (Level 2), e.g. customer service

    Level 2

    Business · 18-24 months

    More about this programme: Intermediate apprenticeships (Level 2), e.g. customer service
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Level 2 qualification plus functional skills
    Business areas
    Customer Service
    Locations
    Not published

    FAQ and coaching pack describe Level 2 'Intermediate' programmes; specific roles not named.

    Source for Intermediate apprenticeships (Level 2), e.g. customer service

BT Group does not publish the university or provider for any of these.

Entry requirements

A levels
Depends on the apprenticeship; see each vacancy
UCAS points
Not published
GCSEs
For most apprenticeships: 5 GCSEs grade 4-9 (C or above) minimum, which may include English Language and Maths. Grades 3-U not accepted.
Equivalents
Scottish qualifications accepted; Level 2 Functional Skills accepted as GCSE C equivalent (Level 1 not accepted); overseas qualifications need a statement of comparability (e.g. UK ENIC).
Other
Must have the right to work in the UK for the whole apprenticeship (no sponsorship) and be at least minimum school-leaving age. Not eligible if you already hold the skills or a higher qualification in the same subject. Some roles need a full manual driving licence. Cyber Security and Research & Innovation need a STEM subject from a published list.

As BT Group publishes them; requirements differ between programmes, so check the advert before you apply.

Application process

  1. Online application
  2. Online assessment
  3. Screening call
  4. Final stage assessment / assessment centre
  5. OutcomeWithin 2 weeks
  1. 1

    Online application

    When: 2026 intake: Monday 2 February - Sunday 22 February 2026

    No CV needed; one application per candidate. Advert may close early if volume is high.

  2. 2

    Online assessment

    Untimed: five text-based questions (reviewed with AI support) and one 90-second video question (reviewed by a recruiter). Personal feedback report.

  3. 3

    Screening call

    About 20 minutes; confirms right to work and qualifications and books the assessment centre.

  4. 4

    Final stage assessment / assessment centre

    About 3 hours, face to face or virtual: group exercise and competency-based interview. Some roles (e.g. field engineer) have an interview only.

  5. 5

    Outcome

    When: Within 2 weeks

    All candidates receive an outcome; feedback available on request.

Typical timeline

Opens
February (2026 intake: 2 February 2026); 'Register your interest' for 2027 open 26 August 2026 - 31 January 2027
Closes
22 February 2026 (2026 intake)
Assessment
Not published
Offers
Within 2 weeks of the final stage
Starts
September

Locations and universities

Locations
Manchester, Bristol, Birmingham, London, Belfast, Ipswich, Glasgow
Universities and training providers
Not published

Salary and benefits

Starting salary
£21,620 to £23,810 per annum depending on programme
Progression
Increases depend on performance against milestones during the apprenticeship
Notes
Training costs fully covered; on completion apprentices move to standard terms for the role.
Benefits
  • Discounts on BT packages and services, plus 30% off for friends and family
  • Generous holiday
  • Automatic enrolment into the BT Retirement Savings Scheme
  • Volunteering days (3)
  • Relocation support (programme dependent)
  • Interest-free loan (programme dependent)
  • LinkedIn Learning access

Cohort size and intakes

Intake years
2026 intake2027 intake
Cohort 2027
Not published
Cohort 2026
Not published

What stands out

BT ranked 2nd in the Top 100 Apprenticeship Employers list for 2024 (its own coaching pack). Its application window is short (about three weeks in February) and needs no CV; AI-assisted text screening is disclosed.

Sources

Where every fact above comes from
  1. 1
    jobs.bt.com/content/Apprenticeships---BT-Group

    Accessed · Professions (Software Engineering, Engineering, Transformation & Delivery, Service, Data and AI), 4-stage process, benefits; all closed.

  2. 2
    jobs.bt.com/content/Apprenticeship-FAQs

    Accessed · Levels, durations (12 months-4 years), salary £21,620-£23,810, entry requirements, Feb 2-22 window, assessment details.

  3. 3
    groupextranet.bt.com/CareersImages/Documents/Candidate%20Coaching%20Pack%20-%20Last%20amended%2026.01.26.pdf

    Accessed · Level 3/4/6 programme lists, 18-24 / 48 month durations, locations, September 2026 start.

  4. 4
    jobs.bt.com/content/Early-Careers-Exploration-Hub

    Accessed · Chartered Management Degree Apprentice mention.

  5. 5
    jobs.bt.com/job/Register-Your-Interest-Grads-&-Apprenticeships-2027/62260-en_GB

    Accessed · Register-interest posting 26/08/2026 - 31/01/2027.

Apprentice Atlas is not affiliated with BT Group. This information comes from BT Group’s own pages and job feeds, linked under Sources. Report an error or ask for a takedown.