Skip to content
Apprentice Atlas
Dstl logo

Dstl

Delivering Mission Success

Defence & Aerospace10 apprenticeship types

Dstl, the Ministry of Defence's science and technology laboratory, recruits apprentices from Level 3 to Level 7 in science, engineering, digital and business roles. Apprentices are 18+ and mostly based at Porton Down or Portsdown West, mixing classroom study with work in Dstl's labs, workshops and offices.

Programmes

10 tracked · status for the next intake that is recruiting

Apprenticeship types

10 offered · degree apprenticeships first
  • Ordnance, Munitions and Explosives (OME) Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Engineering / Science · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Ordnance, Munitions and Explosives (OME) Degree Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Ordnance, Munitions and Explosives

    Advertised in the 2026 cycle (expired 23 March 2026 per page history). Level 6 inferred from 'Degree Apprenticeship'.

    Source for Ordnance, Munitions and Explosives (OME) Degree Apprenticeship
  • Embedded Electronics Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Engineering (Electronics) · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Embedded Electronics Degree Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Advertised in the 2026 cycle. Level 6 inferred from 'Degree Apprenticeship'.

    Source for Embedded Electronics Degree Apprenticeship
  • Cyber Technologies & Solutions Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Cyber · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Cyber Technologies & Solutions Degree Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Advertised in the 2026 cycle. Level 6 inferred from 'Degree Apprenticeship'.

    Source for Cyber Technologies & Solutions Degree Apprenticeship
  • Data Scientist Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Data · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Data Scientist Degree Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Advertised in the 2024 cycle (page history, 26 February 2024). Level 6 inferred from 'Degree Apprenticeship'.

    Source for Data Scientist Degree Apprenticeship
  • Network Engineering Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Cyber / Networks · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Network Engineering Degree Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Advertised in the 2024 cycle (page history). Level 6 inferred from 'Degree Apprenticeship'.

    Source for Network Engineering Degree Apprenticeship
  • Software Engineering Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Software Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Software Engineering Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Named as an apprenticeship cohort; level not stated.

    Source for Software Engineering Apprenticeship
  • Engineering Fitter Apprenticeship

    Level 3

    Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Engineering Fitter Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Advertised in 2024 (page history).

    Source for Engineering Fitter Apprenticeship
  • Laboratory Technician Apprenticeship

    Level not published

    Science · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Laboratory Technician Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Advertised in the 2026 cycle; level not stated.

    Source for Laboratory Technician Apprenticeship
  • Business Administration Apprenticeship

    Level not published

    Business · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Business Administration Apprenticeship
    Business areas
    Not published

    Advertised in the 2026 cycle; level not stated.

    Source for Business Administration Apprenticeship
  • Business Operations, Business Analyst and Facilities Supervisor Apprenticeships

    Level not published

    Business · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Business Operations, Business Analyst and Facilities Supervisor Apprenticeships
    Business areas
    Business Operations, Business Analysis, Facilities

    Advertised in the 2024 cycle (page history, 22 December 2023); levels not stated.

    Source for Business Operations, Business Analyst and Facilities Supervisor Apprenticeships

Dstl does not publish the standard, the qualification, the university or provider or the locations for any of these.

Entry requirements

A levels
Not published
UCAS points
Not published
GCSEs
Not published
Equivalents
Not published
Other
All applicants must be aged 18 or over when starting. Requirements for each role are in the Civil Service Jobs advert.

As Dstl publishes them; requirements differ between programmes, so check the advert before you apply.

Application process

  1. Apply on Civil Service JobsDecember to March
  1. 1

    Apply on Civil Service Jobs

    When: December to March

    All opportunities are advertised on Civil Service Jobs.

Typical timeline

Opens
December
Closes
March
Assessment
Not published
Offers
Not published
Starts
September or October (sometimes January)

Windows for the 2027 intake, September 2026 to August 2027

  • Expected, ~DecBusiness Administration Apprenticeship, Cyber Technologies & Solutions Degree Apprenticeship and 4 more

4 programmes have no 2027 dates yet.

Locations and universities

Locations
Porton Down (near Salisbury), Portsdown West (near Fareham)
Universities and training providers
Not published

Salary and benefits

Starting salary
Not published
Progression
Annual pay increases during the apprenticeship.
Notes
Starting salary depends on the apprenticeship level and is given in each job advert.
Benefits
  • Annual pay increases
  • Option to progress to a second, higher-level apprenticeship
  • Many apprentices move into permanent roles at Dstl

Cohort size and intakes

Intake years
2026 intake
Cohort 2027
Not published
Cohort 2026
Not published
Cohort 2025
Not published

What stands out

Offers apprenticeships from Level 3 up to Level 7 (Masters), and many apprentices go on to a second, higher-level apprenticeship. At least 75% of time is on site or in a classroom.

Sources

Where every fact above comes from
  1. 1
    gov.uk/guidance/become-an-apprentice-at-dstl

    Accessed · Cohorts, levels 3-7, age 18+, Civil Service Jobs Dec-Mar, start Sept/Oct, locations, pay; page history lists 2024 and 2026 roles

Apprentice Atlas is not affiliated with Dstl. This information comes from Dstl’s own pages and job feeds, linked under Sources. Report an error or ask for a takedown.