Skip to content
Apprentice Atlas
HMRC logo

HMRC

People. Purpose. Potential.

Public Sector12 apprenticeship types

HM Revenue & Customs recruits apprentices from Level 3 to Level 7 across finance, policy, project delivery, customer service, counter fraud, legal and digital work, saying it offers over 30 apprenticeships across 16 professions. Apprentices are paid the same as other staff at their grade and usually move into a permanent role.

Programmes

11 tracked · status for the next intake that is recruiting

Apprenticeship types

12 offered · degree apprenticeships first
  • Project Management Degree Apprenticeship

    Level 6Degree

    Project Management · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Project Management Degree Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Project Delivery
    Locations
    Not published
    Source for Project Management Degree Apprenticeship
  • Government Economic Service Degree Apprenticeship (placement at HMRC)

    Level 6Degree

    Economics · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Government Economic Service Degree Apprenticeship (placement at HMRC)
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Economics degree (University of Kent)
    University or provider
    University of Kent
    Business areas
    Economics
    Locations
    Not published

    HMRC apprentices on the cross-government GESDAP are featured on HMRC's page (a 'level 6 degree apprenticeship, HMRC funded'). See the civil-service fact file.

    Source for Government Economic Service Degree Apprenticeship (placement at HMRC)
  • Solicitor Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Legal · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Solicitor Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Qualification as a solicitor
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Legal
    Locations
    Not published

    Routes for law graduates and for those without a degree (no degree required on the non-graduate pathway). Level not stated on HMRC's page.

    Source for Solicitor Apprenticeship
  • Chartered Manager and Facilities Management Apprenticeships

    Level and degree status not published

    Business · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Chartered Manager and Facilities Management Apprenticeships
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Management, Facilities
    Locations
    Not published

    Named in HMRC's apprentice video transcript; levels not stated.

    Source for Chartered Manager and Facilities Management Apprenticeships
  • Finance Graduate Scheme

    Level 7

    Finance · 4 years

    More about this programme: Finance Graduate Scheme
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    CIMA or CIPFA professional qualification
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Finance
    Locations
    Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Stratford

    For degree holders (2:1 in any subject); starts at Higher Officer grade. Starts with the Level 4 Finance apprenticeship (CIMA Certificate) then a commercially funded route; locations from a careers.hmrc.gov.uk advert title.

    Source for Finance Graduate Scheme
  • Finance Foundation Apprenticeship Scheme

    Level 4

    Finance · 3 years

    More about this programme: Finance Foundation Apprenticeship Scheme
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    AAT Level 3 then AAT Level 4
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Finance
    Locations
    Not published

    Entry at Administrative Officer grade; promotion to Officer after the Level 3 stage. Each AAT level takes about 18 months. Level 3 then Level 4 AAT apprenticeships.

    Source for Finance Foundation Apprenticeship Scheme
  • Policy Apprenticeship

    Level 4

    Policy · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Policy Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Policy
    Locations
    Croydon

    Croydon location from a careers.hmrc.gov.uk advert title ('Policy Apprentice - Level 4 - Croydon').

    Source for Policy Apprenticeship
  • Project Manager Apprenticeship

    Level 4

    Project Management · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Project Manager Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    APM Project Management Qualification (PMQ) featured
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Project Delivery
    Locations
    Not published
    Source for Project Manager Apprenticeship
  • Counter Fraud Investigator Apprenticeship

    Level 4

    Counter Fraud · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Counter Fraud Investigator Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Counter Fraud Investigator
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Fraud Investigation Service
    Locations
    Not published

    Entry point for new recruits to the Fraud Investigation Service (Criminal) at Executive Officer grade.

    Source for Counter Fraud Investigator Apprenticeship
  • Business Analyst Apprenticeship

    Level 4

    Business · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Business Analyst Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Business Analyst
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Named in an apprentice quote ('Level 4 Business Analyst Apprentice').

    Source for Business Analyst Apprenticeship
  • Data Analyst Apprenticeship

    Level not published

    Data · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Data Analyst Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Named in HMRC's apprentice video transcript; level not stated.

    Source for Data Analyst Apprenticeship
  • Customer Service Apprenticeship

    Level not published

    Customer Service / Operational Delivery · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Customer Service Apprenticeship
    Standard
    Not published
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Customer Service, Operational Delivery
    Locations
    Not published

    Level not stated.

    Source for Customer Service Apprenticeship

Entry requirements

A levels
Not published
UCAS points
Not published
GCSEs
Finance Foundation: 5 GCSEs at 4-9 (A*-C) including Maths and English or equivalent
Equivalents
Non-UK qualifications considered (Finance Foundation)
Other
Be 16 or over; right to live and work in the UK with valid ID and a National Insurance number; lived in the UK or EEA for at least 3 years before starting. Finance Graduate Scheme: degree at 2:1 or above.

As HMRC publishes them; requirements differ between programmes, so check the advert before you apply.

Application process

  1. Apply on Civil Service Jobs
  1. 1

    Apply on Civil Service Jobs

    All HMRC apprenticeships are advertised on Civil Service Jobs.

Locations and universities

Locations
Not published
Universities and training providers
University of Kent

Salary and benefits

Starting salary
Paid the grade rate, e.g. an Administrative Officer (AO) apprentice starts on £28,000 plus
Progression
Finance Foundation: promotion to Officer after Level 3; Finance Graduate: promotion to Senior Officer after the second placement
Notes
HMRC says apprentices are not paid a separate apprentice rate.
Benefits
  • Flexitime
  • Up to five days paid volunteering a year
  • 20% of working time for study
  • Usually a permanent role after probation

What stands out

Ranked 23rd in the UK's Top 100 Apprenticeship Employers for 2026 (as stated by HMRC). There is no upper age limit.

Not published by HMRC when we last checked: a typical timeline and cohort sizes or intake years. We leave gaps empty rather than guess.

Sources

Where every fact above comes from
  1. 1
    civil-service-careers.gov.uk/hmrc-our-apprenticeships

    Accessed · Programmes, levels 3-7, eligibility, AO salary, Top 100 ranking, benefits, tagline.

  2. 2
    civil-service-careers.gov.uk/hmrc-finance-apprenticeships

    Accessed · Finance Foundation (AAT L3/L4, 3 years) and Finance Graduate Scheme (CIMA/CIPFA, 4 years)

  3. 3
  4. 4

Apprentice Atlas is not affiliated with HMRC. This information comes from HMRC’s own pages and job feeds, linked under Sources. Report an error or ask for a takedown.