Skip to content
Apprentice Atlas

National Grid

Energy & Utilities9 apprenticeship typesIntake2027 intake

National Grid recruits Advanced (Level 3), Higher and Degree apprentices in the UK for its electricity transmission and distribution businesses, from overhead-line and substation craft roles to engineering, telecoms, finance, procurement and regulation. Craft apprentices train at National Grid's Eakring training centre in Nottinghamshire.

Programmes

1 tracked · status for the next intake that is recruiting

Apprenticeship types

9 offered · degree apprenticeships first
  • Regulation & Strategy Degree Apprentice

    DegreeLevel not published

    Business (Regulation & Strategy) · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Regulation & Strategy Degree Apprentice
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Operations & Engagement
    Locations
    London

    2026 advert title. Level not stated in what we could read.

    Source for Regulation & Strategy Degree Apprentice
  • Engineering Degree Apprenticeship

    DegreeLevel not published

    Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Engineering Degree Apprenticeship
    Qualification
    BEng in an engineering discipline
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    National Grid says higher/degree apprentices may gain a BEng, foundation degree or Level 4 qualification. Level 6 would follow from a BEng but the page does not state it per programme.

    Source for Engineering Degree Apprenticeship
  • Overhead Lines Advanced Apprentice

    Level 3

    Engineering (Power) · 3 years

    More about this programme: Overhead Lines Advanced Apprentice
    Qualification
    Level 3 Power Network Craftsperson
    University or provider
    Eakring Training Centre (National Grid)
    Business areas
    Asset Operations
    Locations
    Pentir (Wales), Bristol, Stevenage, Newark

    Locations from advert titles.

    Source for Overhead Lines Advanced Apprentice
  • Substation Advanced Apprentice

    Level 3

    Engineering (Power) · 3 years

    More about this programme: Substation Advanced Apprentice
    Qualification
    Level 3 Power Industry Substation Fitter
    University or provider
    Eakring Training Centre (National Grid)
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Oxford/Reading, North Humber
    Source for Substation Advanced Apprentice
  • Fitter, Jointer and Refurb Centre Advanced Apprenticeships

    Level 3

    Engineering (Power) · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Fitter, Jointer and Refurb Centre Advanced Apprenticeships
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Eakring Training Centre (National Grid)
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Stoke-on-Trent
    Source for Fitter, Jointer and Refurb Centre Advanced Apprenticeships
  • Telecoms Higher Apprentice

    Level not published

    Engineering (Telecoms) · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Telecoms Higher Apprentice
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    National Grid Electricity Distribution
    Locations
    Devon (Plymouth area)

    2026 advert (position filled).

    Source for Telecoms Higher Apprentice
  • Overhead Lines Engineer Higher Apprentice

    Level not published

    Engineering (Power) · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Overhead Lines Engineer Higher Apprentice
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Asset Operations
    Locations
    Bristol

    2026 advert title.

    Source for Overhead Lines Engineer Higher Apprentice
  • Finance Higher Apprentice

    Level not published

    Finance · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Finance Higher Apprentice
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Funding & Investment
    Locations
    Warwick

    2026 advert title and salary.

    Source for Finance Higher Apprentice
  • Procurement Higher Apprentice

    Level not published

    Procurement · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Procurement Higher Apprentice
    Qualification
    Not published
    University or provider
    Not published
    Business areas
    Not published
    Locations
    Warwick

    Older advert.

    Source for Procurement Higher Apprentice

National Grid does not publish the standard for any of these.

Entry requirements

A levels from CC
A levels
Higher/Degree: typically two A levels (or equivalent) at C or above
UCAS points
Not published
GCSEs
Advanced: five GCSEs incl. Maths and English Language at 4/C or above. Higher/Degree: GCSE English and Maths at 4 or above
Equivalents
BTEC or equivalent Level 3 qualifications for Higher/Degree apprenticeships
Other
Advanced apprentices must be able to live away from home during training (mainly at Eakring, typically Monday to Thursday).

As National Grid publishes them; requirements differ between programmes, so check the advert before you apply.

Typical timeline

Opens
Autumn for the September 2027 intake; Advanced and Higher apprenticeships typically open in December
Closes
Vacancies may close early once enough applications arrive
Assessment
Not published
Offers
Not published
Starts
September

Windows for the 2027 intake, September 2026 to August 2027

  • Expected, ~DecAdvanced, Higher and Degree Apprenticeships

Locations and universities

Locations
Warwick, London, Eakring (Nottinghamshire), Bristol, Devon, Pentir (Wales), Stevenage, Newark, Stoke-on-Trent
Universities and training providers
Eakring Training Centre

Salary and benefits

Starting salary
£24,999 (Higher, typical); £26,899 (Telecoms Higher); £29,744 (Finance Higher); £29,819 (Procurement Higher)
Progression
Telecoms Higher: £35,817 (year 2), £43,491 (year 3), £47,197 (year 4), £53,379 on completion
Notes
All figures from search-index snippets of National Grid careers pages and adverts.
Benefits
  • 25 days' annual leave plus statutory holidays
  • Full-board accommodation while at the training academy
  • Pension and share-option scheme
  • London weighting allowance where applicable

Cohort size and intakes

Intake years
2026 intake2027 intake
Cohort 2027
Not published
Cohort 2026
Not published
Cohort 2025
Not published

What stands out

Eakring training centre has been rated 'outstanding' by Ofsted four times in a row (as stated by National Grid). Advanced apprentices' time at Eakring falls from 75% in year 1 to 25% in year 3.

Not published by National Grid when we last checked: application stages. We leave gaps empty rather than guess.

Sources

Where every fact above comes from
  1. 1
    jobs.nationalgrid.com/uk/early-careers/apprenticeships

    Accessed · Autumn opening for September 2027; December opening for Advanced/Higher.

  2. 2
    careers.nationalgrid.com/new-talent/apprentices/higher-degree-apprenticeships

    Accessed · Higher/Degree entry requirements, BEng/foundation degree, benefits, Higher salary

  3. 3
    jobs.nationalgrid.com/UK/content/Advanced-Apprenticeship/?locale=en_US

    Accessed · Advanced apprenticeship GCSEs, Eakring, 3-year Overhead Lines and Substation programmes, live-away requirement

  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
    jobs-ats.nationalgrid.com

    Accessed · Brand colours from the careers site theme.

Apprentice Atlas is not affiliated with National Grid. This information comes from National Grid’s own pages and job feeds, linked under Sources. Report an error or ask for a takedown.