Skip to content
Apprentice Atlas

UK Atomic Energy Authority

Energy & Utilities9 apprenticeship types

The UK Atomic Energy Authority runs an apprenticeship scheme in engineering, science and business/professional support for people starting careers in fusion energy. Engineering and technician apprentices train at Oxfordshire Advanced Skills on the Culham campus, while business apprentices study with colleges and universities nationally.

Programmes

9 tracked · status for the next intake that is recruiting

Apprenticeship types

9 offered · degree apprenticeships first
  • Digital Technology Solutions Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2026)

    Level and degree status not published

    Software Engineering / Digital · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Digital Technology Solutions Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2026)
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    The DTS standard is Level 6, but the advert's level was not seen.

    Source for Digital Technology Solutions Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2026)
  • Mechanical Design Engineer Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Mechanical Design Engineer Apprenticeship
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Role named in apprentice testimonials on the UKAEA apprenticeships page; level not stated.

    Source for Mechanical Design Engineer Apprenticeship
  • Electrical Engineering Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Electrical Engineering Apprenticeship
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Role named in apprentice testimonials on the UKAEA apprenticeships page; level not stated.

    Source for Electrical Engineering Apprenticeship
  • Engineering Technician Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Engineering Technician Apprenticeship
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Role named in apprentice testimonials on the UKAEA apprenticeships page; level not stated.

    Source for Engineering Technician Apprenticeship
  • Project Management Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Project Management · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Project Management Apprenticeship
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Role named in apprentice testimonials on the UKAEA apprenticeships page; level not stated.

    Source for Project Management Apprenticeship
  • Procurement Apprenticeship

    Level and degree status not published

    Business · Duration not published

    More about this programme: Procurement Apprenticeship
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Role named in apprentice testimonials on the UKAEA apprenticeships page; level not stated.

    Source for Procurement Apprenticeship
  • L3 Software Technician Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2025)

    Level 3

    Software Engineering · Duration not published

    More about this programme: L3 Software Technician Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2025)
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published

    Starting salary £18,810.

    Source for L3 Software Technician Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2025)
  • L3 Laboratory Technician Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2025)

    Level 3

    Science · Duration not published

    More about this programme: L3 Laboratory Technician Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2025)
    University or provider
    Not published
    Locations
    Not published
    Source for L3 Laboratory Technician Apprentice (Apprentice Scheme 2025)
  • Engineering apprenticeships via Oxfordshire Advanced Skills (Mechatronics, Machining, Technical Support)

    Level 3

    Engineering · 3 years (Level 3); 2 years (Level 4)

    More about this programme: Engineering apprenticeships via Oxfordshire Advanced Skills (Mechatronics, Machining, Technical Support)
    University or provider
    Oxfordshire Advanced Skills (OAS), Culham
    Locations
    Culham

    OAS, set up by UKAEA with STFC, trains UKAEA engineering apprentices and those of other employers. Level 4 programmes also run (2 years, day release).

    Source for Engineering apprenticeships via Oxfordshire Advanced Skills (Mechatronics, Machining, Technical Support)

UK Atomic Energy Authority does not publish the standard, the qualification or the business areas for any of these.

Entry requirements

A levels
OAS Level 4: A level standard in Maths and Physics or Computer Science, plus a Level 3 engineering qualification or relevant experience
UCAS points
Not published
GCSEs
At least 5 GCSEs at A*-C / 4-9 incl. Maths and English (and Science for some apprenticeships); Maths and English can be achieved during the apprenticeship before EPA
Equivalents
Not published
Other
Over 16 at the start; eligible to live and work in the UK (OAS criteria).

As UK Atomic Energy Authority publishes them; requirements differ between programmes, so check the advert before you apply.

Typical timeline

Opens
Autumn 2026 (search-index snippet of the UKAEA apprenticeships page)
Closes
Not published
Assessment
Not published
Offers
Not published
Starts
Not published

Locations and universities

Locations
Culham Science Centre (near Abingdon, Oxfordshire), Rotherham (South Yorkshire)
Universities and training providers
Oxfordshire Advanced Skills (OAS)

Salary and benefits

Starting salary
L3 Software Technician (2025): £18,810
Progression
Not published
Notes
OAS says first-year apprentice salaries across its employers range from £10,000 to £18,000 (search-index snippet).
Benefits
  • Generous annual leave allowance
  • Nationally recognised qualifications
  • Expert mentor support

Cohort size and intakes

Intake years
2025 intake2026 intake
Cohort 2027
Not published
Cohort 2026
Not published
Cohort 2025
Not published

What stands out

UKAEA's scheme began in 2005 with advanced engineering apprenticeships. It is a Top 100 Apprenticeship Employer and was IMechE Advanced Apprenticeship Training Provider of the Year 2020; apprentices have worked on the JET and MAST Upgrade fusion devices.

Not published by UK Atomic Energy Authority when we last checked: application stages. We leave gaps empty rather than guess.

Sources

Where every fact above comes from
  1. 1
  2. 2
    careers.ukaea.uk/job/l3-data-technician-apprentice-scheme-2025-fta

    Accessed · L3 Software Technician 2025, £18,810

  3. 3
  4. 4
    oas.ukaea.uk/apprenticeships/faq

    Accessed · OAS (UKAEA training centre) FAQ: programme durations and entry criteria

  5. 5
    ccfe.ukaea.uk/careers

    Accessed

Apprentice Atlas is not affiliated with UK Atomic Energy Authority. This information comes from UK Atomic Energy Authority’s own pages and job feeds, linked under Sources. Report an error or ask for a takedown.